top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebecca María

Cells

The virus is part of us

The more we run

The more we fight it

The more it eats at us


We stopped trusting nature

We become firefighters

Damage control

Leaving bodies behind


We become cells

That shrink away

Frightening images

Of angry antibodies


We forget about their souls

Where will they rest?

The ones we lost

When will we mourn them?


Sold a fantasy

Of glass ceilings

And slippy ladders

There's the snake


Slide down,

Back to the beginning


I'm sorry that you've been lied to

That you had to build a new truth


So what's real?

I don't know


But I know cells exist

And particles of heat

Always moving

And things react, die or multiply


Love exists

Because you can feel it

When your heart squeezes

And gives you fever


Evil exists

Do you remember when

You first faced it?

The true horror


It moves like the virus

Or heat particles

Inside us

We wait in fear


We want to hear

Benign, safe, mild

We want to deny

We want absence


I'm so afraid

But I'm also here.

I want to face it.

I will join you.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page