top of page
Search
  • Rebecca W Morris

Plum Trees


Plums swaying on the plum tree

Falling fat at my feet

Down to the root of me

He’s burnt the matriarchal bed

And put it out for all to see

The ghost house across the way

I think there’s a boy still there

Though i cant see him, too scared to check

Rain run thick like tears

Down the glass

Pain

Back at the roots of me

That swaying plum tree

We picked the fruit together

Many glances to the other side

I saw you there waiting still

A presence behind a window sill

Grimy panes across the street

We jumped over the wall just to see

What lay there beneath the grass -

Were memories on broken glass -

Is always greener isn’t it

How much joy we found in horror

The thought of empty houses

And witches killing spouses

Listening to stories with the lights off

I murdered the orchid in the window

Barely a shred of light cut through

To shelter me and you

And so letting go, i stopped caring

It’s easier than you think

To stop caring when your view is obstructed

By tall buildings or broad shoulders

Yes - they’ve fucked it

I find in those dwindling hours

We look out and through the gloom

To the bright sky outside our room

And say ‘how do you do you do you do'

I am looking through windows again

Of the past, I'm saying goodbye

To the sad boy behind the rainstained pane

This time from out to within

Say goodbye to my murdered plants

As I tentatively tidy succulents

Waiting for blooms undercover

Skies, blue and deep like no other

Lying dormant in my brain.

Goodbye to plum trees

I have found a new beat

Of lemons, figs and rosemary.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cells

bottom of page