top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebecca María

Bodies and Beliefs

In the Mediterranean the elderly move from their core,

Back in the UK they bend over double

Hiding what was

The well of youth.

I look at my future

Old drooping skin

Brown in the sun

Rotund bellies

Bared to the world

Without shame

I must accept my place

In this ageing world.

When I'm by the sea

I get unstuck to my beliefs

I held on so dear to in the city

Sometimes we forget where the roots

Of them come from.

Beliefs are emotions reborn

We want the world to know what we believe

So that the right people will admire us

And bask in the warmth of hatred from the ones that are wrong.

They love the small dogs here -

One waddles past, a bow in her hair.

How many lines or wrinkles carry the beliefs of a person?

Shouting down all those who disagreed

Or a silent disapproval of everyone around.

Which skin bent around the frames of loved ones

And held their insides steady against tides of grief?

Is it belief that make them walk up and down the beach?

Their legs look so lived in

The elderly have so much ownership

Over parts of their body

Even if they don't move as well as they used to.

Perhaps they function better.

We always see the sliding scale to death as weakness

But I see no one on this beach looking for something else.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cells

bottom of page