top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebecca W Morris

Jack of All Trades, Master of None?

Why does being able to do a lot of things have such negative press? Don't they know that one type of skill can inform another?


Why limit yourself? Time. Yes. Other responsibilities. Okay. Chronic Illness? Eek.

So, time is limited. Especially if you do a lot of things. But I have a little rule: don’t do jobs you don’t want to do.


For me, it frees up time to:


1) Do what I am truly passionate about; writing content and articles, mostly long-form; subtitling, voice over work, singing, creative writing, walks, making experimental films and learning about podcast production.


2) To accept exciting and unexpected work you didn’t expect to be offered!

My editing experience makes me a better Subtitler. My Voice Over work widens my knowledge of accessible content. Filmmaking makes me more time sensitive when copy editing scripts. Copywriting improves my creative writing and vice versa.


For many years I thought the fact that I flitted between tasks was a weakness. That only those who could do one thing very well created excellent quality work.


I complete each of my jobs very quickly, knowing that I thrive on a mix of obsessiveness and passion. Yet this is why freelancing works so well for me.


Hours of fixating, mind whirring, ideas pinging can be exhausting. In between I need large breaks and rest to help my mind reset.


In school we are taught to do 45 minutes - 1 hour bursts and then a short break in between. Freelancers talk about the 'pomodoro method', 25 minutes bursts and short breaks. I have consistently tried this 'regulated' way of working, and punished myself for not being able to achieve it.


But it doesn’t make my work of lesser quality. I rotate so frequently that I produce a kaleidoscopic well-roundedness in my work. I look at my work anew every day and fall in love again.


Are you a jack of all trades? Lmk - I’d love to collaborate.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page